Australia Telescope National Facility

The Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF) is a collection of radio telescopes operated by the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) in Australia[1]. The facility includes the Parkes Radio Telescope, the Australia Telescope Compact Array (ATCA), and the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA)[2]. It is located in several different locations across the country, including Parkes Observatory and the Paul Wild Observatory[1].

The Parkes Radio Telescope, located in central New South Wales, is perhaps the most famous of the telescopes operated by the ATNF. It is a 64-metre fully steerable parabolic dish that has been used for a range of scientific projects, including the discovery of pulsars[3].

The Australia Telescope Compact Array (ATCA) is located at Narrabri in New South Wales. It consists of six 22-metre dishes that are used in tandem as one giant telescope. Its main purpose is to study the universe with radio waves and helps astronomers explore the many secrets of our Universe from relics from the Big Bang, to the formation of stars and planets, and even to the search for intelligent life elsewhere in the universe[2].

Overall, the ATNF is an important scientific facility, providing researchers with critical insights into the nature of the universe and our place in it.